Seguin ISD MS Redesign



Strategic planning is defined as an organizational management activity that is used to set priorities, focus energy and resources, strengthen operations, and ensure that employees and other stakeholders are working toward common goals. It sets a clear direction for an organization.


Seguin ISD currently has a three-year strategic plan that was developed and adopted during the 2017-2018 school year. With that plan set to expire at the end of the 2020-2021 school year, the district has started engaging in developing a new three-year strategic plan that will run through the 2024-2025 school year. Strategic planning is incorporated as part of SISD’s participation in TEA’s System of Great Schools Network.




The process of developing a new strategic plan began in July 2021 with the development of an Internal Steering Committee. A Visioning Task Force, made up of various district stakeholders, met over four days in October and December 2021 to identify areas of opportunity for the district. These findings were used to develop seven new Strategic Goals and four Strategic Priorities that will drive the work of the district over the next three years. The timeline below shows additional steps in the process with the final draft being presented to the Board of Trustees at the June meeting.


Process Step

Completion Timeline

Internal Steering Committee Formation

July 2021

Visioning Task Force Creation

September 2021

Visioning Sessions

November 2021

Goal Development

January  2022

Performance Objective Development

February 2022

Target Area Task Force Formation

March 2022

Stakeholder Feedback 

March 2022

Final Draft of Plan Presented to Board

June 2022

Central Office Annual Work Plan Creation

June 2022

Begin Quarterly Reports for the Board

August 2022





A total of eight Strategic Planning Task Forces have been created to develop action plans designed to make improvements in the target areas that are aligned to the new Strategic Goals and Priorities. Each Task Force will have 8-10 members who will collaborate to develop district strategic actions for the next 12-18 months. Below is the list of Task Forces and members:


Equitable Student Experiences 

Mark Cantu (Chair)

Halcy Dean

Allison Pape 

Cindy Lasseter

Craig Dailey

Rachel Bloxham

Stephanie Hill

Jonathan Martinez 

Timothy Cantu 

Lesli Mahaffey 

Amanda Pond

College, Career, Military Readiness

Anna Lisa Vargas (Co-Chair)

Rick Bough (Co-Chair)

Kristi Miranda 

M’Liss Haas 

Ryan Randolph

Emilie Rohde 

Bianca Duvall

Imelda Brena

Denise Crettenden 

Samantha Gallegos 

Erica McMillan

Rigorous and Relevant Curriculum in a Blended Learning Model

Andrea Jaramillo (Co-Chair)

Steve Gonzalez (Co-Chair)

Kathy Kober

Chanda Bloch

Marcos Manrique

Alli Higginbotham

Debbie Magin 

Amanda Santos

JoAnn Holliday

Amanda Hardwick
Monica Franco

Jenifer Wells

Human Resources/

Staff Culture 

Cindy Moreno (Chair)

Danica Murillo

Linda Guzman

Jason Schmidt

Saray Dominguez

Lisa Weir

Reyetos Valdez

Tatum Braune

Patricia Garcia

Amy Graeber 

Community Engagement 

Sean Hoffmann (Chair)

Cindy Borden

Blanca Regalado

Kelly Follis

Elaine Bennett

Krista Moreno

Harrison Dean 

Kat Tondre 

Linda Duncan

Kirsten Legore

SEL/Whole Child 

Pete Silvius (Co-Chair) 

Bethany Polk (Co-Chair)

Elizabeth Moore 

Teresa Cuevas

Cinde Thomas-


Darren Dunn 

Tommie Jackson

Katie Chabot

Tanya Webb

Jacob Galvan

Christina Smith

School Safety/Discipline 

Nikki E. Bittings (Chair)

Victor Pacheco

Don Hastings

Sandra Reyes

Aaron Seidenberger 

Tori Beutnagel

Phia Rigney

Natalie McFadden

Daniella Nyame 

Glenda Moreno


Bill Lewis (Chair)

Tony Hillberg (Chair)

James Pizana

Diana Weber

Deana Hink 

Sara Klesel

Aleandro Guerra

Jerry Belmarez

Robyn Poppa 

Christina Garcia 

Jason Adam